National CSR Awards

   With the enactment of Companies Act, 2013 containing the CSR provision under Section 135, the mandate for CSR has now become a part of corporate governance.

2.   Schedule VII of Companies Act, lists the activities to be undertaken under CSR by the companies crossing the prescribed thresholds. With the notification of Section 135 and Corporate Social Responsibility policy rules on 27th February 2014, the CSR provisions came into force with effect from 1st April 2014. The CSR activities, undertaken by the private and the public sector companies, are now expected to have strategic approach as opposed to mere charity, donations etc. The CSR activities undertaken in project mode are envisaged to be structured, coordinated and monitored. The involvement of the companies in CSR is likely to bring innovative solutions to development issues.

3.   The Ministry of Corporate Affairs has instituted National CSR Award (NCSRA) to recognize corporate social responsibility (CSR) for inclusive growth and sustainable development. This Award seeks to recognize the companies that have made a transformative impact on society. The NCSRA seeks to recognize outstanding projects in following three categories:

    i) Four awards for excellence in CSR, based on CSR spend
    ii) Five awards for CSR projects in Aspirational Districts
    iii) Eleven awards for CSR projects in National Priority Areas.

Three separate awards are for micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

4.   In accordance with the Scheme of National CSR Awards the following have been designated to make nominations under different categories as mentioned above:

    - Ministries/ Departments of Govt of India
    - State & Union Territories (UT) Governments
    - Professional institutions: ICSI, ICAI, ICMAI
    - National Level Trade and Industry Chambers

5.   Nominating organizations are advised to go through the Guidance Note for Nominating Organisations before submitting their nominations on the designated portal: Last date for filing nominations is 30 September 2018.

What's New

National CSR Awards – 2018: Information for Shortlisted Companies for Detailed Submission
View Details

Copyright © IICA 2016-17. All Rights Reserved.

Indian Institute of Corporate Affairs.